YOUR HEART AND WATER …

Thinking of a conversation yesterday one of the comments was “I don’t drink before bed so I don’t have to get up and pee.” This was in response to me telling her to drink a glass of water and take a baby aspirin before bed.

How many folks do you know who say they don’t want to drink anything before going to bed because they’ll have to get up during the night? So I went into my file from my gazillion hospital visits and found this info and instructions on the discharge papers.

Gravity holds water in the lower part of your body when you are upright (legs swell). When you lie down and the lower body (legs and etc) seeks level with the kidneys, it is then that the kidneys remove the water because it is easier. With CHF I have to be diligent with my daily fluid intake and you need a minimum water to help flush the toxins out of your body.

Drinking water at a certain time maximizes its effectiveness on the body
2 glasses of water after waking up – helps activate internal organs
1 glass of water 30 minutes before a meal – helps digestion
1 glass of water before taking a hot shower – helps lower blood pressure
1 glass of water before going to bed – avoids stroke or heart attack

I can also add to this… My cardiologist told me that water at bed time will also help prevent night time leg cramps. Your leg muscles are seeking hydration when they cramp and wake you up with a Charlie Horse. She also stressed if you take an aspirin take it at nite. Now if your rolling your eyes the reason is
Aspirin has a 24-hour “half-life”; therefore, if most heart attacks happen in the wee hours of the morning, the Aspirin would be strongest in your system.

So at nite on my nite stand is a glass of water and an aspirin!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    Me too

    Like

YOUR THOUGHT ....

