I Was Thinking

Watching Bloomberg recap of the Apple Watch roll out yesterday I realized  this ship has probably sailed, but do you think we could maybe, just maybe, reconsider the word ‘ap’? Those who know me well know I have no problem with word abbreviations per se, or even with making up new words. Shakespeare made up plenty of them, and I figure if one catches on, it’s because it fills a need. I’m just having a bit of a problem with this one. I know I shouldn’t. I mean, if it doesn’t bother any of you that you sound like a barking Pekinese when mentioning your iphones’ features, it shouldn’t bother me, right? I’ll work on that. I will probably have to continue muting the iphone commercials, leaping with a yelp on the remote when I hear the first line (‘don’t say ap!’) for a while though.

Consider and Apply !

One Comment Add yours

  1. Urspo says:

    The evolution of the English language fascinates me. I am particularly keen on words that come into the lexicon and which words drop or die out. I imagine ap will be around for awhile – even when aps are no longer used anymore.

    Like

YOUR THOUGHT ....

