9 YEARS…..REALLY

It’s been 9 years since I stopped fearing death,

It was the moment the Cardiac Surgeon I had met only thirty minutes before telling me that my life had ebbed to a mere number of days if I did not have AVR surgery in the morning. While waiting to immediately go to the hospital wing noticing my fear and shock an elderly woman whose appointment was after mine told me “Baby, it’s all right. Last time I checked none of us get out of here alive.”

It’s an obvious fact, of course, but we get so wrapped up in the idea that dying is something we can run from that we break out in a sweat if we even think it’s catching up to us.(I have revisited it twice since this January day.) But, inevitably, it always does. There’s nothing we can do about that. It’s foolish to worry about dying when there’s so much living still to do. Some people are blessed with an abundance of years and others find that life–in the real, not figurative sense–is short.image But it’s up to you to live your life well and with purpose whether it is a mere days, weeks, months or years!

CONSIDER AND APPLY!

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. You inspire me. Thank you.

    Like

  2. Urspo says:

    A very commendable approach to life, indeed.

    Like

  3. Ron says:

    Again Roger, well said. Especially your last sentence. It is up to you to live your life well and with purposes whether it is mere days, weeks, months or years. That’s just what I’m doing and I am literally having the best time of my life. I know soon this will end but I will have no regrets. My time left on this earth is all “gravy time” now.

    Like

YOUR THOUGHT ....

