Everyone Does It.

A friend and I were standing in the kitchen at a Christmas party last nite talking when one of the hosts opened the icebox and took a swig of OJ out of the bottle. Her response shocked me into momentary silence. Mind you she had just come inside from the fire pit where they were passing around “a party favorite”

Apparently, she has never — never! –taken a swig of any beverage directly from the jug or carton. Even though she has a teenager in the house.

If there  is only a sip left, she still feels the need to transfer to a glass before consuming.

She said it just grosses her out. I pointed out that it’s much more environmentally friendly to drink from the jug than to use the water needed to wash all those glasses.  She didn’t budge.

I also pointed out that there’s essentially no difference between the jug and single serving bottles of Gatorade and Water (which she’s  fine with). She just looked back at me like I was the crazy one.

I will admit that if a beverage is shared among family, that it’s best to follow standard protocol and keep your mouth off of the container.

But I’ll also admit to breaking this rule from time to time, especially in the middle of the night. And, if it’s the last serving? There are no rules!

Consider and Apply!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Urspo says:

    Women are supposed to be the fastidious sex but I too cringe at thems who drink rights from the bottle. Gross! It breeds germs! There is no logic too this. I won’t drink out of the container Someone has touched but I don’t blink about doing things with someone arguably far worse…

    Like

  2. Basil Rene says:

    Not everyone. I only drink from the container if it is a single use one. A large juice container etc? Nope. First, I don’t live alone and second, air anyone was to ever come over, I could never in any good consciousness serve them that. And lastly, the human mouth is full of bacteria, which when you drink from a container by putting your mouth directly on the spout, they go right back into that liquid and multiply. If you were to see what that looks like after a few hours, it might be a discouragement for most. Then again, I am admittedly a bit of a germaphobe.

    Like

YOUR THOUGHT ....

