HUH ??

Sometimes I think I have a hearing problem (but I really don’t – I can hear just fine, especially when I don’t want to). I am so visually oriented that I find it hard to listen to audio books and I always watch movies with subtitles or closed-captioning on. When someone tells me something, I often have to see the words spelled out in my head. I often look at people’s mouths when they talk, and if I am not looking at their mouth, or not looking at them directly, I occasionally seem to not be able to hear them, or catch words. Sometimes when I hear people talking, I think they aren’t speaking in English. But they are. But then again, sometimes when I accidently switch to the Spanish channel (I suck at foreign languages, so I don’t know Spanish), I will listen to it for a minute, and not realize it is not English.

I think that’s pretty weird, don’t you?

Consider and Apply!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Kathleen says:

    I do the exact same thing. But I virtually ALWAYS watch peoples mouths when they speak and have accidentally become a fair lip reader (even though I hear fine). I realized this tendency when I was in my teens (forever ago) Our class was paired-up for an assignment the very day a dreamy new student arrived and he was my partner. We spent 20 or 30 minutes in discussion and then the class resumed for the results individually. After class many girls came up to me to ask about the boy (since no one else had yet said but 2 sentences to him,) and the girls went on and on about beautiful his eyes were and I had no memory of his eyes at all. I was simply watching his mouth.

    So I guess I am no weirder than you.

    On a side note, I had a blonde moment years ago. (I have many) After I realized I could read lips a bit, I used to practice reading lips, just occasionally, by watching the news on mute, and recording it. But I don’t like to watch the news, so one day I tried to practice lip reading while watching a cartoon (‘Hey, Arnold’) — It was a genuine blonde attempt for me. Alas, I was unsuccessful, and embarrassed when I figured out WHY it didn’t work. :o)

    Like

  2. Urspo says:

    Abilify helps this.

    Like

YOUR THOUGHT ....

