You Can’t Fool Mom …. She’s To Smart

I’m sure my parents would tell a different story but I don’t think I was a particularly difficult child. I got into my share of trouble but I wasn’t the rebellious sort. I didn’t run away from home, never took money from my mother’s purse, and I never participated in any sort of vandalism or other dastardly deeds that the “in crowd” my sister ran with or threaten to “jump off” the roof if I didn’t get….. but I could pout and sling attitude like nobody’s business.

My folks, of course, were wise to me. They knew how I operated and they knew that “the silent treatment” was simply not a part of my skill set. They also knew that, eventually, I’d realize that they had made the right decision, they’d made it out of love and that they really did know what was best for me.

I long ago learned that pouting and having a bad attitude never works. I seriously believe the old idiom “You can catch more flies with honey than with vinegar” and I try to smile at those who rub me the wrong way.

A very wise friend of mine once told me that when confronted by a particularly unpleasant person she will put on her biggest smile, look them in the eye and ask “Are you having a bad day?”

It works every time. She’s a mother. Mother’s know stuff. They can’t be fooled.

THAT SAID “MOM KNOWS BEST”

YOUR THOUGHT ....

